Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Intellectual Freedom Award

Thank You to The Motley Cow and Michael Zimmer for bringing attention to the West Bend recipients of the WLA/Proquest Intellectual Freedom Award. A nice article in the Wisconsin Library Association Newsletter reads in part:
the Wisconsin Library Association’s Intellectual Freedom Round Table is honored to announce that the West Bend Public Library, and in particular,Director Michael Tyree and Young Adult Librarian Kristin Pekoll, West Bend staff, members of the Library Board, and supportive community members, specifically blog creator Maria Hanrahan, will be honored with the 2009 WLA/Proquest Intellectual Freedom Award. The nomination specifically stated:

Together and via their unique roles, the staff, the board and the community members have been able to defend people’s right to read materials of their choosing — without barriers that prohibit access to information. I am in awe of all that they’ve faced and in all that they’ve accomplished.They are role models for us all.


  1. Just want to make it clear, as some of the announcements about this have been a little confusing.....West Bend Community Memorial Library received this award and Michael Tyree and Kristin Pekoll will be accepting. (I hope to attend as a guest!)

    The library (staff and board) and community members were applauded in the nomination letter for the award. Anyone that participated in supporting the library and fighting to keep the collection uncensored deserves thanks and shares credit for this honor.